Fall: Accessorize Your Staples

Fall Accessorize

Fall Accessorize by VintageGlamGirl on Polyvore.com

My black leather knee-high boots have scuffed their way through two years of long harsh winters and this year I am looking to update my wardrobe with a slightly different look. Being in a more fashion-forward industry and a strict budget, I am strategically planning my fall wardrobe based on updated trends and fashion staples that will last year after year.

My number one staple update is a pair of thigh-high suede black boots like these Sam Edelman’s. They have a sexy slender heel with a small platform, a great compromise for the height conscientious while still providing enough comfort. These boots will look great with dresses, skirts, and leggings; my favorite fall attire. The second most important staple is a jacket or vest of some sort. Since I will be wearing the black pleather H&M jacket from last year, I will update my wardrobe with a faux-fur vest that I can throw over almost anything. I love combining different patterns and textures and creating something unexpected. Think fur vest paired with a denim shirt, flannel, lace, or even with bare arms.

Small things that are less expensive, but still on trend are wool fedoras. You can find them anywhere from $10 and up. I will probably use my old one from H&M and update it with a feather flower pin from JCREW to add a punch. Large hobo bags are out and small crossbodies are all the rage. I love this suede satchel from Madewell with the chain strap.

No matter what your budget is take a good inventory of what you have from last season that is still in this season. Make a list of ways you can update it and then decide whether you want to splurge, save, or add a little do-it-yourself project. Don’t forget to rummage through vintage stores! You can probably find a lot of what you are looking for for a lot less of the cost. I found a pair of Crosby Square wing tips in the men’s section for $18! I could easily cross oxford off of my list and the $100 price tag.

Leave a comment