Always here

The picture above is of Buarl and I in Daytona Beach probably walking the pier or along the boardwalk. I was maybe 2 or 3 and people joke that I am looking at the camera with my bratty grin saying, “haha I’m getting what I want, look who’s got me now!” Buarl always gave me what I want. He came over to my family’s house almost every night for dinner. If I didn’t like what we were having he’d always take me to McDonald’s after I “ate”. If I wanted ice cream he’d take me out to the Sweet Shoppe. If I wanted to swing he’d take me to the park. We’d go out to the fair and he’d let me run. A lot of what we did together had to do with food, because quite frankly we both enjoyed eating. When I was little I can remember sitting on the porch in the summer time feeling the “breeze”. He’d always sit in the rocker chair and lean way back. Every once in a while he’d let out a “weeeee,” although he was never going anywhere. He’d talk to everyone that walked by. He told stories, some true, some not, you never really knew.

Buarl never asked for much. Actually, I don’t think he ever asked for anything more than to fill up his glass of tea. My car would break down and I would call Buarl. I needed a couch for my first apartment. I called Buarl. Buarl was always there for me. He cherished my family with memories we will never forget. Twenty-two years of family vacations to Florida-some of the best times my family has ever had. Buarl was a selfless man and never let another go hungry if he had anything to do with it. For years I’ve been trying to describe success. Thinking success had everything to do with me and what I achieve in life. Today I learned success is what you do for others’ lives and the impact you leave behind. I love you Buarl. You truly were and still are an angel among us.

Leave a comment